Marquette’s Castle Brewery

 The Castle Brewery, built by George Rublein, one of the first residents of Marquette, does not feature in any of my novels. I had initially planned to set a scene in Iron Pioneersthere but later cut it out. Nevertheless, the building has struck a chord with me from early childhood because of my love for castles.

The Castle Brewery, circa 1998

Today I find the brewery’s history interesting because Rublein, like Fritz Bergmann in Iron Pioneers, was one of the German immigrants who came to Marquette in 1849 from Milwaukee. He and his wife Catherine were probably among those who suffered from the initial typhoid outbreak that summer and later in December started walking back to Milwaukee so villagers in Worcester (later Marquette) would not starve to death without their winter supplies. Fortunately, the supply ship arrived on Christmas Day and the Germans were called back to the village.

Rublein bought 160 acres of land for $1.00 on what became County Road 492. There he built his home, farm, and his beer brewery. He later would expand his business to the west end of Washington Street, building the Castle Brewery, of which a small sandstone portion remains today. Quite far from town at that time, the brewery’s beer gardens would have been a fun excursion out of town for residents.

In Iron Pioneers, the scene I did not include in the novel was to center around Karl Bergmann visiting the Castle Brewery as a young man. The visit would make him feel sentimental over his deceased father and inspire him to make his trip to Germany. Although I left out the Castle Brewery, in The Queen City, Karl did go to Germany, and when he returns, he brings home the German pickle Christmas ornament he gives to his sister Kathy. Decades later, John Vandelaare sees the ornament on his grandmother’s Christmas tree and wonders how such a strange ornament came into the family’s possession. Although no one in the family remembers how the pickle was acquired, it serves as a symbol that the past is always with us.

My grandmother never really had a pickle ornament—I just thought it an interesting German tradition, and I do have my own Christmas pickle ornament today. But Grandma always had pickles on the table at parties—bread and butter pickles. I buy them all the time—they remind me of her; we all have our comfort foods.

(The above article is from My Marquette. For more information about the book, visit www.MarquetteFiction.com)

Explore posts in the same categories: Marquette History, Tyler's Novels

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Marquette’s Castle Brewery”

  1. Blaine Betts Says:

    I am now up to 1884 in IRON PIONEERS and am absorbed by this fast moving, compelling book. Congratulations, Dr. Tichelaar. You have created a treasure that generations to come will treasure.

    A fine young man recently told me of his dream to resurrect the “Marquette Brewing Company” name. He wants to produce fresh ales and keg beer for local pubs and cafes. Give me a call and I’ll provide details…and you can answer some questions that I have about Marquette in the 19th century.


  2. Thanks for the comment, Blaine. I remember you telling me about the resurrection of the “Marquette Brewing Company”–part of why I decided to post this and stir up a little interest.

    I’ll talk to you soon.


Leave a Reply

