My New York Vacation

Recently, I went to visit friends in Rochester, New York and played the tourist. While New York may have little to do with my usual posts on Marquette and Upper Michigan books, places, and people, there are a few connections.

The French Castle - Fort Niagara

The Haunted French Castle, part of Fort Niagara

My ancestors, the Bishops and Whites, came to Marquette around 1850 from Upstate New York, specifically Essex County, a bit east of where I was, but I enjoyed looking at the countryside and various trees, which would have been familiar to my ancestors. I visited the Erie Canal, which they doubtless would have known well, and for all I know, they may have traveled along it or Lake Ontario to reach Marquette. My ancestor, Basil Bishop, fought in the War of 1812 at the Battle of Plattsburg. I had my own War of 1812 experience visiting Fort Niagara, reputedly haunted by a headless man whose body was tossed down its well. I also visited the George Eastman home. Eastman, who invented the Kodak camera, first became interested in photography after he bought a bunch of equipment for a trip to the Dominican Republic that fell through, so he instead traveled to Mackinac Island to take nature photography.

cannons fort niagara

Cannons at Fort Niagara

Other places I visited included the Susan B. Anthony home. Anthony is best known for her role in supporting the right for women to receive the vote, but she was also involved in the temperance movement–the two movements were closely connected. My own Bishop ancestors who were among the founders of Marquette’s First Methodist Church also founded Marquette’s first temperance society.

And I visited Niagara Falls–beautiful and breathtaking, even if a bit commercialized with skyscrapers rising above it.

In short, I had a wonderful time. Here are a few photos of my vacation.

Tyler at the Erie Canal

Along the Erie Canal

Niagara Falls

Niagara Falls

George Eastman Home

The George Eastman Home

Niagara Falls

Niagara Falls

Explore posts in the same categories: Tyler's Family, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “My New York Vacation”


  1. Nice article and photos! You’ve seen a few things I haven’t gotten to yet: The George Eastman House and Susan B. Anthony home.

  2. Debbie Glade Says:

    This looks like an amazing trip. I love that French castle!


  3. We love to travel in upstate New York! But stay far, far away from NYC. Nice pics!


Leave a Reply

