Celebrating National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month. Since I’m not much of a poet, I don’t do much to celebrate it. But with my new novel Spirit of the North: a paranormal romance now in print, I thought I’d reproduce the only poem I’ve ever published in any of my novels. The following poem has no name, but it is written by one of the female characters in the novel, and obviously, it’s a love poem. I can’t place the poem in context because it would give away part of the novel’s plot, so if you’re curious, hopefully you’ll read the novel. You can find out more about the novel at: http://www.marquettefiction.com/spirit-of-the-north.html

My beautiful Apollo,

I tremble at your sight, for you are almost a god to me.

You are the beautiful light in my life of darkness.

You are the promise of warm summer in my cold winter.

My golden-crowned Apollo, you fill my heart with warmth.

You are the splendor of my life.

If not quite a god, you are the gift God put in my life

A sign of His Love for me,

His assurance of the Love to come in the next life

When nothing will separate us.

We spent only a few days in each other’s presence,

Yet that is only a foretaste of the happiness

We will know in the lifetime where we shall never part.

I love you. I love you.

I will always love you.

I love you purely and wholly and unashamedly.

Thank you for your presence.

Your love will keep me warm through the winter of life

Until we meet in Paradise.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tyler's Novels, Upper Michigan Books and Authors

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

