My Newest Book: Creating a Local Historical Book

Modern History Press just published this short 40 page book based on two interviews I did with Authors Access (www.AuthorsAccess.com) about how I researched and wrote my historical novels as well as my history book My Marquette.

The book is now for sale at my website www.MarquetteFiction.com and at other online bookstores. The ebook versions should be available by the middle of October 2012.

Following is a description of the book from the back cover. You can also view a few sample pages of the book at my website:

Does Your City or Region Have a Fascinating Story that needs to be told before it’s forgotten?

Yes, it does, and you can be the person to write it.

In this short book, Tyler Tichelaar, author of My Marquette and The Marquette Trilogy, talks in an interview format about how he became interested in writing both local history and regional and historical fiction and his research and writing process to bring his books to fruition.

Readers of Creating a Local Historical Book will learn:

  • What kind of research is required
  • What counts as research
  • Where to do research
  • How to organize that research into a book
  • How not to go overboard with details
  • Finding images and gaining usage permission
  • How to make your book stand out from others
  • Tips on marketing your history book

“Our committee would like to honor Tyler with this award in honor of his meticulous research, his enlightened and personal testimony about Marquette and his educational contributions to the preservation of Marquette’s history.”

– The Marquette Beautification & Restoration Committee, presenting Tyler with the Barbara H. Kelly Historic Preservation Award

“Tyler Tichelaar speaks from the heart about his love affair with the town of his birth. Join him on a nostalgic tour of one of the great small cities of America.”

— Karl Bohnak, author of So Cold a Sky: Upper Michigan Weather Stories

Explore posts in the same categories: Marquette History, Tyler's Novels, Upper Michigan Books and Authors

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “My Newest Book: Creating a Local Historical Book”


  1. Congratulations! You are so prolific. While I’m deciding on a project, you are completing two or three.

    • tylerrtichelaar Says:

      Thanks, Donna. I wish I had the time to write all the books I want to, but you still have published more books than me so I think you’re still winner of the prolific crown. It’ll be a good year before I publish anything else.

  2. Laura Tauer Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS TYLER!


Leave a Reply

