Marquette’s Historic Copper House Up for Sale

The Sherwood or “Copper House” at 411 E. Arch Street has just gone up for sale so I thought I’d post the description of it as appears in my book My Marquette:

The historic Copper House is now up for sale.

The historic Copper House is now up for sale.

Built in 1905, this home has been known as the “copper house” because it is copper-plated. It was built for James Russell with profits from the Calumet-Hecla Copper mine. At the time, Mr. Russell was the warden of the Marquette Branch State Prison. The house next belonged to Myron Sherwood, attorney to John M. Longyear. The third owners were the Sloan family, and the fourth owners are Dr. and Mrs. Craig Stien.

The home is currently listed with Remax in Marquette for $749,900 and from the interior pictures I’ve seen, I suspect it’s worth every penny: http://www.remax-michigan.com/Home/411-E-Arch-St-Marquette-MI-49855/PPN/1084991/

Explore posts in the same categories: Marquette History, Marquette's Historical Homes

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Marquette’s Historic Copper House Up for Sale”

  1. Victor Says:

    I’m not seeing the copper plates… what part of the house are they on/


  2. Good question, Victor. I believe the roofing was copper-plated originally, which I understand was not unusual in the 19th century, but I imagine that roof has since been replaced. I don’t see any copper plating on the interior but you can view photos of it here: http://www.realtor.com/realestateandhomes-detail/411-E-Arch-St_Marquette_MI_49855_M46800-63364#modal_PhotoGallery


Leave a Reply

