My Article about Carroll Watson Rankin and Dandelion Cottage is Published

The current issue of Michigan History, in which my article appears.

The current issue of Michigan History, in which my article appears.

I’m very pleased to announce that I’ve had an article about Carroll Watson Rankin published in the latest issue of Michigan History magazine. I feel very honored to be published in the state magazine and even more that the magazine’s editor approached me and asked me to write the article. I also thank the Marquette Regional History Center staff for supplying the images for the article.

Carroll Watson Rankin was born and raised in Marquette. She adopted the male version of her name for her pen name and wrote several stories she published in magazines. Then in 1904, she penned her classic children’s book Dandelion Cottage based on the antics of her daughters and a small cottage behind the Rankin home in Marquette. The book has been loved by generations of children and its success inspired Rankin to write many more books. The cottage is still in Marquette and has a fascinating history of its own, as detailed in my article.

Copies of the issue can be purchased at the Historical Society of Michigan’s website: http://www.hsmichigan.org/store/back-issues/

Dandelion Cottage in Marquette - the inspiration for Carroll Watson Rankin's children's classic.

Dandelion Cottage in Marquette – the inspiration for Carroll Watson Rankin’s children’s classic.

Explore posts in the same categories: Marquette History, Marquette's Historical Homes, Tyler's Articles and Short Stories, Upper Michigan Books and Authors

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “My Article about Carroll Watson Rankin and Dandelion Cottage is Published”


  1. This is wonderful to see, Tyler! That book has always fascinated me. I stopped by the cottage just this past summer to show it to my sister who was visiting from out-of-state. Yes, what an honor that you were asked to write the article!


Leave a Reply

